Professor Frank V. Bright Biography

Henry M. Woodburn Professor
SUNY & UB Distinguished Professor
University at Buffalo,
The State University of New York

Professor Frank V. Bright earned a Chemistry B.S. degree from the University of Redlands in 1982. As an undergraduate research student he studied the chemistry of superoxide and DDT under the direction of Prof. Julian L. Roberts. He completed his Ph.D. in 1985 at Oklahoma State University in Prof. Linda B. McGown’s laboratory. He subsequently conducted postdoctoral research with Prof. Gary M. Hieftje at Indiana University. In 1987, Frank joined the University at Buffalo (UB), The State University of New York (SUNY) Department of Chemistry as a tenure-track Assistant Professor; he is currently SUNY & UB Distinguished Professor and the Henry M. Woodburn Professor of Chemistry. In 1994/95 Frank completed a highly enlightening sabbatical stay with Prof. Charles A. Eckert at the Georgia Institute of Technology. Professor Frank V. Bright’s research program centers on: hybrid materials for chemical sensing and anti-fouling coatings; [ii] molecular-level interactions in supercritical fluids and ionic liquids; and [iii] biodegradable platforms for accelerated wound restitution. Professor Frank V. Bright has co-authored more than 300 peer-reviewed publications on these subjects along with 16 issued US Patents. He has also served on numerous journal and corporate advisory boards. He has been awarded the 3M Non-Tenured Faculty Award (1988-’91), Eastern New York American Chemical Society Buck-Whitney Medal (1999), SUNY Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching (2000), New York Section of the Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal (2003), Akron Section Award of the American Chemical Society (2003), A.A. Benedetti-Pichler Award in Microchemistry from the American Microchemical Society (2005), Jacob F. Schoellkopf Medal of the Western New York American Chemical Society (2006), Society for Applied Spectroscopy Fellow (2010), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2014), and ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award in Spectrochemical Analysis (2015).

Professor Frank V. Bright


(L to R) Professors Linda B. McGown, Gary M. Hieftje, Charles A. Eckert, and Julian L. Roberts (mentors)